Sugar is an essential structural component of living cells and a source of energy. But do you know how many sugar types are there? 

Sugar Types

There are three main types of sugar:


  • Monosaccharides: Glucose, Fructose and Galactose
  • Disaccharides: Double Sugars- maltose, Sucrose, and Lactose
  • Polysaccharides: Complex Carbs and Plant Foods
sugar types explained

Main Monosaccharides

If we dive in a little more into the main three monosaccharides:


  • Glucose, chemical formula C6 H12 O6, is required as fuel for all the body cells. It is
    transported directly into the bloodstream and absorbed directly by the blood. It is
    the body’s first source of energy
  • Fructose, also known as fruit sugar. It goes to the liver to be converted into energy:
    according to the body’s needs, it is either converted into fat to be stored or into
    glucose to be readily used
  • Galactose or milk sugar. It also goes to liver first, to be converted into glucose or fat
    like fructose.

Simple Carbs vs Complex Carbs

It is important to differentiate simple carbs from complex carbs:


  • The simple carbs correspond to white refined foods. They’re digested and absorbed rapidly in the bloodstream. They’re poor in vitamins and minerals. The natural simple carbs are fructose in fruits and galactose in milk
  • The complex carbs have many sugars bound together and branching strands. These many branches slow down digestion and these sugars are packed with fiber, minerals and vitamins
sugar types